Monday, February 25, 2013

Trout Unlimited in Connecticut

I know it is still a bit early for trout season but like deer hunting I always get siked up early. The thought about sitting on a quiet stream bank and waiting for that ever so slight tug on the line can be so exciting and relaxing at the same time.

About Trout Unlimited

Trout Unlimited Connecticut is a grassroots conservation organization dedicated to protect, reconnect, restore and sustain Connecticut's coldwater resources.

Part of the national Trout Unlimited organization, founded in 1959, Trout Unlimited Connecticut is the unifying body statewide, connecting more than 3,500 members spread among eight chapters in every region of the state.

Through advocacy, education initiatives such as the Trout in the Classroom program and partnerships with other statewide conservation organizations, Trout Unlimited Connecticut works towards improving the ecological health of rivers and streams throughout the state.

Our motto, taken from one of Trout Unlimited's founding members is, "If you take care of the fish, the fishing will take care of itself."

Find Your Local Trout Unlimited Chapter

James Belden - President
Serving the towns of Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield,
New Milford, Newtown, Ridgefield, Sherman

William Case - President
Serving the towns of Avon, Barkhamstead, Berlin, Bloomfield, Bolton,
Bristol, Burlington, Canton, Crom-well, East Granby, East Hartford,
East Windsor, Enfield, Ellington, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby,
Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, New Britain, New Hartford, Newington,
Plainville, Rocky Hill, Somers, Stafford, Suffield, Simsbury, South Windsor,
Tolland, Vernon, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Windsor, Windsor Locks

Jim Woodworth - President
Serving the towns of Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, Chester, Clinton,
Deep River, Durham, East Hampton, East Haven, Essex, Guilford,
Haddam, Hamden, Killingsworth, Madison, Marlborough, Meriden,
Middlefield, Middletown, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven,
Old Saybrook, Orange, Portland, Southington, Wallingford, West Haven,
Westbrook, Woodbridge

Jeff Yates - President
Serving the towns of Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan,
Norwalk, Ridgefield, Stamford, Wilton

Glen LaFreniere - President
Serving the towns of Ansonia, Beacon, Beacon Falls, Bridgewater,
Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Prospect, Roxbury, Seymour, Southbury,
Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott, Woodbury

Jim Fedorich - President
Serving the towns of Bethlehem, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen,
Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, North Canaan, Plymouth,
Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington, Winchester

Charlie Petruccelli - President
Serving the towns of Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Milford, Monroe,
Redding, Shelton, Stratford, Trumbull, Weston, Westport

Hendrik Verkade IV - President
Serving the towns of Andover, Ashford, Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury,
Chaplin, Colchester, Columbia, Coventry, East Haddam, East Lyme,
Eastford, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Hampton, Hebron, Killingly, Lebanon,
Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, Mansfield, Montville, New London, North Stonington,
Norwich, Old Lyme, Pomfret, Preston, Putnam, Salem, Scotland, Sprague,
Sterling, Stonington, Thompson, Union, Voluntown, Waterford, Willington, Windham,


  1. At my college, some of the "fish-heads" just started up a TU Chapter, and I know they're struggling for participation from students. I wish I had the time, because this summer I worked in Alaska with exclusively Salmonids, specifically Chinook and Lake Trout. They are the prettiest fish, in my opinion!

  2. Alyssa, it sounds like you get to do some traveling in your studies and I envy you for that. I would love to go to Alaska, maybe someday.